HOW DO YOU TELL IF YOU ARE HAVING AN IDENTITY CRISIS?

lead

If you and I are ever to achieve something great with our lives in the service of God and other people, we must learn to live off divine revelation, rather than borrowed motivation. Many people prefer to rely on man-made formulas for success instead of relying upon God-inspired strategies.

They imitate, but they don’t initiate. They copy but they don’t create. They never think in an original way, prefering to be spoon fed reading ultra-light motivation books or listening to salesman-like hype that tells them ‘You can do it’ but never quite tells them what it is they can do — or how to do it.

The renowned communication teacher, Howard Hendricks once said: ‘The tombstones of many Christians – including many in positions of leadership – will read, “I came. I saw. I concurred.”‘ So many people, including many Christians, have all the cool and fashionable style in the world, but they lack any real soul! They have cookie cutter lives, with no sense of their own identity. They wear Saul’s armour, going into life’s battles wearing an outfit and carrying armour that they haven’t tested or proven for themselves. If you accept another person’s revelation, you will also inevitably take on his or her limitation. It is not wrong to imitate those you respect and admire. But we should use imitation only as a temporary scaffolding to help us build our own identity.

In Matthew 4:4 ‘Jesus answered, “It is written: ‘Man does not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.'”‘ (NIV)

Prayer: ‘Father, I know you have a unique plan and purpose for my life. Help me to learn all I can from the people I admire most, but help me not to live off their motivation when you want to give me personal revelation. I want to prove my own identity in you.’

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “HOW DO YOU TELL IF YOU ARE HAVING AN IDENTITY CRISIS?”

  1. Becky says :

    This is so awesome Anthony. This story reminds me of what we’re learning about David…He is an imitator without limitations..He became an imitator of Christ through his own trials and sufferings listening to God, thereby finding his own identity..That which resembles Christ, but in his own person..

    I, too have struggled in the past with my own identity….not knowing who I was or why I was here…

  2. Carrie says :

    Hi Pastor A,

    This is a great blog. I struggle with having an identify crisis and have always felt that I was meant to do more and that God has something great in store for me. I believe that fear (of many things) has kept me from pursuing what I feel in my heart.
    This past Sunday my minister challenged us to pray daily one of three prayers (I don’t have my notes with me so I can only remember 2 of them): Lord please search me & Lord please break me. I am praying for the Lord to break me so that I can feel free to really be who God knows I can be and who He wants me to be. I will also pray for my own identity.
    Thanks and have a wonderful week!

  3. Karen Wilkins says :

    God has a purpose for all of us . We ask the Lord to search our hearts and mold us into that God purposed position, and when he starts to fulfill that purpose in our lives , we are unwilling to go out of our comfort zone. We panic and jump back instead of going forward into our God called purpose and end up with an identity crises.

  4. Roger Burns says :

    I think the whole reason so many Christians become the cookie cutter type is because of that comfort zone that Karen mentioned. They see someones walk that is working for them so they imitate it because it is proven. I know many times in my own life were God has had to push me through trials and I go reluctantly, kicking and screaming all the way. It is because of that comfort zone. We do not realize it but it has a lot of power over us. I too will pray for my own identity like the one Becky mentioned. One that imitates Christ but also allows God to shape me into the person he wants me to be. God’s word says He wants us to be of one mind and spirit but it does not say He wants us to be of one personality.

  5. Priya says :

    P.A.

    Still after all these years – you have that word in season.

    Priya

Leave a Reply

