IS YOUR LIFE LIKE A MOVIE?

corey haim

[This weeks blog is dedicated to Corey Haim]

Marc, a friend of mine works as a producer, making films, animation shorts and directs a TV series for one of the Canada’s largest TV broadcasters. Not long after he first became a Christian, he noticed something staggering in the Old Testament story. ‘I was re-reading the story of the exodus from Egypt,’ he recounts this story one day to me as we were grabbing a cup of coffee downtown Toronto. ‘I’d been trying to work out how a filmmaker like me could use his gift for the Lord. Then I noticed that there were several distinct stages in the deliverance of God’s people: slavery in Egypt, then the Red Sea, then the wilderness and finally the promised land. Suddenly, it dawned on me: that’s the way movies are made!’ It’s true.

Why do people go to the movies? Because in the darkened cinema they find stories with which they can connect, narratives that offer them a chance to identify their own struggles and a chance to see a bright, redeeming outcome. In a sense, the life of every Christian is a kind of movie, a story played out not just for its own sake, but for the benefit of many others who need to see how God works. Each one of us has had his or her own Egypt, a place of bondage and powerlessness. We’ve also been through a Red Sea deliverance that’s nothing short of miraculous. And we’ve certainly had our share of wilderness experiences. But what keeps us going is the sense that somewhere out there is our promised land, the great destiny for which we were born. That hope drives us forward every day in faith. You may be in a wilderness experience right now. It may seem that you’ve been waiting forever for God’s deliverance, but it will come. Why? For two reasons. First, because God looks favourably on those who are feeling broken in spirit and contrite, humbled by the experiences of life. He lifts them from that place, to a new height of favour and blessing. And second, because in lifting you up he shows his nature to others who, though you may not be aware of it, are watching the movie of your life unfold. God will show them, through you, the power of hope in the promised land.

Prayer: ‘Lord, I know that others are watching my life. Please help me to keep a hope-filled attitude, even in my wilderness times I want others to see that you are with me and that you are the director & producer of my life.’

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “IS YOUR LIFE LIKE A MOVIE?”

  1. Sean says :

    It true to allow good to be the director in our lives, When I dealt in drugs and guns I remember coming out of it will be a challenge however I allowed God to take over and direct the way that I should walk and now I am blessed with the greatest family and God is still doing a good work in me. It is tuff sometimes no one is saying it is not but Faith without deeds is dead.

  2. Greg Harrison says :

    Pastor Anthony,

    I know that fans of Corey’s fell in love with the article,. One fan wrote “I think its beautifully written and totally expresses how i feel and i think. Pastor Anthony couldnt have painted a better picture of my sweetness Haim, then that one. I love it!!!!!!!!”
    Lisa Marie.

    Pastor Anthony,
    I appreciate your love and support of my dear friend Corey Haim. I know that He is quite busy right now but I will make sure that He views your words of encouragement in his life. He is Blessed to have someone like you to take the time to express in words what so many are hoping and believing for Corey at this time in his life. I know, that He knows that God is the director and producer in his life. He is very grateful for the times that you have been there for him. The last time I saw him he told me to tell you that he was very grateful from the bottom of his heart for your assistance. I also know that Corey is a man of his word and when time permits he will fullfill his obligation and promise to you. I know that God will reveal to us His perfect timing for that to take place. I too decided to dedicate a episode of my radio show to Corey. It will be on my website soon. http://www.gregwhoshow.com. I will be dedicating Episode two to Mr Corey Haim too. 222 dreams come true for both me and you!
    So for all you fans of Corey Haim, I just want to let you know that he doesn’t view people as fans but rather Corey views everyone as supporters and he feels so fortunate and Blessed to have so many people that support and love him.

    Peace
    Greg Harrison.

  3. truecorylove says :

    Hello Pastor Anthony,
    My Name is lisa i Just wanted to write and express how much i Loved your blog this week, it was so amaizingly written and every word i think was very well said and very true, i was inspired by this especially because of who you dedicated it too. I myself of course am a haim fan and for the 2 times that i have got to meet him he has been nothing more then a sweetheart jsut like i knew he would be. He is a very normal human being just like everyone else, he struggles, he inspires, he fights and like no other person i have seen or grew up seeing he doesent give up and strives to be more like i know he can be. With everything hes been through i appriciate him much more as someone god definitly took a little more time on. Its amaizing and gives me strength to my heart when i would see him and you can see in his eyes just how much of a fighter and strong person he is for all that people and the meda have thrown his way, But hes still standing! I give him so much credit for dealing with all hes dealt with growing up because alot of it i have had to deal with all my life as well, but i know and can see it in his eyes hes normal and he will struggle as any other human being would but the more beautiful part about corey is i know he will get threw it “Never give up hope on someone until there last breath” and i know corey is not done! Hes still ment to be here and everyone can obviously see that i know god has special plans for him…because i truly belive god never gives you anything you cant handle. Corey is here for a reason! hes special you can see it in his eyes and the light, strength, and love that shines from his heart. Look in his eyes and you will see the window to his soul. 🙂 i remember growing up wathing him and just sitting there as a little girl asking god, god please watch over him and give him the strength that he needs to over come the bad that will be shown to him. And just look at how far he has come. Hes strong, hes a warrior, and i know he can get through anything. Im so proud of him and i know so are friends of mine that truly love and care for him. I know theres alot of people that are gonna try and bring him down, and i know it will be difficult but i know he has great people in his life and i know god will show him the way. i know he must have felt at one point or another that his life was like a mpovie that was being controlled i think many people feel like that. But he got control of it again and i pray and know that his movie “life” will be filled with love and happiness” again pastor Anthony well done! love n blessings to you!!!

  4. MARIGOLD says :

    RIP Corey x
    From England.

  5. Elephant On The Run says :

    Beautiful. God is our true and only hope -especially through the wilderness. Corey, I pray and hope that your sweet soul is finally at peace.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. 2010 – MY BLOG IN REVIEW | ANTHONY DOES – MY BLOG - January 3, 2011

Leave a Reply

