WHAT IF YOU HAD ONLY 21 DAYS TO LIVE?

What would you do if you had 3 weeks to live? Would you change anything, do anything differently?

So I’ve been asking people the question, And some themes emerged in people’s answers. Most people have said that they would live passionately-they would try to make every day count. We talked about that last week…Live courageously. Make the most of every day. Take some risks.

But there’s something even more important than sky diving & mountain climbing. Like the Tim McGraw song says: “And I loved deeper, I spoke sweeter, I gave forgiveness I’ve been denying. Someday I hope you get the chance to live like you were dying.”  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XiOcW_YR1G8

Love deeper, love completely. Paying attention to your closest relationships.

When people look back on their lives with regret, it almost always involves relationships. I don’t think anyone on his deathbed has ever said, “I wish I’d spent more time at the office,” or “I wish I’d made more money.” But lots of people say, “I wish I’d spent more time with my kids. I wish I’d been a better husband or wife, or mom or dad. I wish I’d made amends with that friend.”

When Jesus reached the end of His life, He zeroed in on His closest relationships. He was very intentional about loving completely.

John 13:1 “It was just before the Passover Feast. Jesus knew that the time had come for him to leave this world and go to the Father. Having loved his own who were in the world, he now showed them the full extent of his love.”

He knew that his time had come to leave this world, so what did He do? He showed them the full extent of His love. Some translations say “He loved them completely” or “He loved them to the end.” He loved them all the way to the finish line-He finished well. And isn’t that what you would want to do if you had 21 days to live?

LEAVE A COMMENT ABOUT WHAT YOU WOULD DO TO ‘LOVE COMPLETELY’

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “WHAT IF YOU HAD ONLY 21 DAYS TO LIVE?”

  1. Rebecca says :

    IF I only had 21 days to live this is what I would do. I would live every day as fully possible. I would do things I never thought were possible, like travel to foreign places that only the rich and elite could do..I would shop in the finest stores, eat expensive dishes, and do all this with passion. I would courageously take risks that would not endanger others or take me away quicker than the time I have left.. I would lavish every moment, thought, friendship, adventure,etc…, I would spend more time with family, friends, neighbours, etc..spend more time with God…But, I would also reflect on life itself and see what it dealt me and how I treated the people in my life that I care about and the other people in my life that I know and see but have little connections with. I would take an inventory and see what I need to do to make amends to those relationships..I would do whatever it takes to have complete peace and joy in my life during my last days on earth..I would even become homeless to experience the pain, hurt, rejection, and other trials that the homeless endure everyday of their lives..I would do my best to love completely as Jesus did..I would endure all things,,even if it was uncomfortable.. I would also take more time to listen, and understand my relationships with those near and far to me…in my heart..Like I said I would do whatever takes…..for Love endures all things…I would not have any regrets if I did all these things….I could die peacefully knowing that I loved completely…

  2. Gloria says :

    Hey Pastor,
    I asked my 6 year old grand-daughter (Kylie) after church…..
    “If you knew you were going to Heaven tomorrow, what would you do”

    She said, “I could snuggle on the clouds Nana, but first I’d want to play with my friends and tell my mom, dad, Amara, you and papa, ducki (A. Vanessa), Nolan, Nathan, and everyone how much I love them”

    I was near tears…..from the mouth of babes, eh!

  3. Judy Scurr says :

    I would like to look it at another way…My daughter and son-in-law fostered their 8 month old nephew because both of his parents were into the crack-cocaine scene. You don’t realize how quickly a little person can change your own life around. There’s the adjustments of a new home, teething, interupted sleep during the night, daycare and the adjustment of having someone else’s child. But..despite all the sacrifices and changes…a special love grows for that child. The sharing, the hugging and singing together forms a foundation of trust and love that prayerfully stays with them the rest of their lives. I, personally grew attached to this sweet, precious little guy and would sing and pray over him whenever I was given an opportunity.He soon learned to sing Jesus loves me this I know.. and he would add twinkle, twinkle little star in there somewhere too. The joy they bring…into our hearts!
    May 1, Children’s services brought the news that the mother had completed her drug rehab treatment, one of the requirements to get her son back. This little tyke was now 2 1/2 years old now and was soon to go back to his mom. I stayed with my daughter and son-in-law for three weeks helping them through this, sorting through his clothes and the toys that he would be taking back with him. Three weeks is actually 21 days..I just thought of that. It was very hard.. but all in all ..we couldn’t emphasize the love of Jesus enough to him. He loved to say “grace” at meal time and Jesus was a common word to him. In his best understanding ..he did ask Jesus into his heart. The three weeks/21 days were very intense emotionally and there was such an “urgency” to send him off feeling as secure as possible. When we know something is coming to an end..we do cherish or want to hold onto these precious moments as much as possible and then you have to let go and trust that God will take care of the rest that we have no control of.
    My daughter and son-in-law do have visitation rights so they do visit this little guy often. Praise God that there is a foundation laid in his heart which is Jesus Christ. We can continue to pray over this little one and trust God that the seed planted with continue to grow inside him and his life will be successful in Him.

  4. Judy Scurr says :

    To add to my last comment..we just don’t know how long we have those that are in our sphere of influence. I realized the importance of taking captive of the treasures given to us each day and (building them a treasure book) making them count for God whenever possible. God is so faithful!

Leave a Reply

