IS GOD WITH US?

Image

Sometimes I really don’t recall the specific details of how God has led my life or how the many aspects of my life came about to bring me to where I am today. Some of it is a blur and some of it is still a bit of a surprise to me, but what I do know is that God has gone and continues to go before me and I know that He is present with me.

I recently finished studying the names of God and the last name I looked at was Jehovah-Shammah ‘The Lord is Present’. I spent time looking at some verses throughout the Old Testament mostly to try to understand what God is communicating to us about Himself through this name.

In Exodus 13:20-22 the Israelites (God’s people) are wandering around the desert. During the day the Lord was before them in a pillar of cloud and at night He was a pillar of fire. God went beforeHis people. It was Him who was leading them. And He never left them.

Later on in Exodus 23:20-22 we see that God again goes before His people. As the Israelites fight their enemies it is God who actually defeats them. God fights for His people.

When Joshua fought against the city of Jericho God sent the captain of His host to fight with Joshua. God does not leave His people to fend for themselves. No, He fights with and for His people. (Joshua 5:13-15)

Again with Gideon we see that God fights forGideon and joins in battle with him.

As you follow the path God sets before you, He has already walked there. It may seem unknown to you, but God has already been there. 

When you feel helpless or overwhelmed, remember that God is fighting for you. He wants to see you succeed and His name glorified. He is the God with you, engaged in battle and bringing you forward. 

Part of this blog-post originally appeared on March 22, 2013 at ‘Be Strong and Take Heart’

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “IS GOD WITH US?”

  1. Cyndy Nordyke says :

    Anthony,

    When we get out newsletter blog from you – this is what it looks like.

    Just for you know.

    Cyndy

  2. Alison Wood says :

    Hi, I’ve just “borrowed” your beautiful with-us-God picture for my carol service talk this week (in Acton, London UK). I hope that’s OK!

    God bless you all in your work.

Leave a Reply

